• Partial Scholarship

George Mason University is a public research university in Fairfax County, Virginia near Washington, D.C. The university was originally founded in 1949 as a Northern Virginia regional branch of the University of Virginia. Named after Founding Father of the United States George Mason in 1959, it became an independent university in 1972. The school has since grown into the largest public university in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

The university operates four campuses in Virginia, which are located in Fairfax, Arlington, Front Royal, and Prince William Counties. It also operates a retreat and conference center in Lorton and an international campus in Incheon, South Korea. The university’s flagship campus is in Fairfax, Virginia.

The university is classified among “R1: Doctoral Universities – Very high research activity.” Two professors, James M. Buchanan in 1986 and Vernon L. Smith in 2002, were awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics during their time at George Mason University.

EagleBank Arena, a 10,000-seat arena and concert venue operated by the university, is located on the Fairfax campus.

George Mason University has four campuses in the United States, all within the Commonwealth of Virginia. Three are in the Northern Virginia suburbs of the Washington metropolitan area, and one is in Virginia’s Blue Ridge Mountains. The university also has one campus in South Korea, in the Songdo International Business District of Incheon. Between 2005 and 2009 the university had a campus at Ras al-Khaimah, United Arab Emirates. The Blue Ridge campus, just outside Front Royal, is run in cooperation with the Smithsonian Institution.

The Adam Smith Fellowship is a co-sponsored program of the Mercatus Center and Liberty Fund, Inc. Adam Smith Fellowships are awarded to graduate students attending PhD programs at any university and in any discipline, including but not limited to economics, philosophy, political science, and sociology.


The total award of up to $10,000 includes:

  • A stipend
  • All required readings
  • Travel and lodging to attend colloquia hosted by the Mercatus Center


In order to be accepted into the Adam Smith Fellowship program, you must be:

  • Enrolled in a PhD program from any university and in any discipline.
Eligible Regions: Open for all.

Application Process

  • Eligible candidates should apply through the organisation’s official web portal with the necessary documents. The web portal can be accessed by clicking on the “Apply Now” button below.

Application Deadline: March 15, 2024

Application ClosedOfficial link

For Further Queries

For further queries contact: (800) 815-5711
Disclaimer: Youth Opportunities spreads opportunities for your convenience and ease based on available information, and thus, does not take any responsibility of unintended alternative or inaccurate information. As this is not the official page, we recommend you to visit the official website of opportunity provider for complete information. For organizations, this opportunity is shared with sole purpose of promoting “Access to Information” for all and should not be associated with any other purposes.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?