• Partial Scholarship

The World Summit Awards (WSA) rewards Information and Communications Technologies projects that have a positive impact on society at the local level. The award was initiated in 2003, within the framework of the United Nations World Summit on the Information Society. After the UN General Assembly adopted Resolution 56/183. The awards are open to companies, organizations, or individuals from any of the UN and the UNESCO Member States. The world summit awards are managed by the International Center for New Media (ICNM), a non-profit organization based in Salzburg, Austria. ICNM was founded by Peter A. Bruck, in 2002.

Following a proposal by the Government of Tunisia, the International Telecommunication Union, adopted Resolution 73 (Minneapolis, 1998), in the Plenipotentiary Conference, in Minneapolis 1998, held on October 12–6 November. Resolution 73 asked the Council to deliberate on the ITU’s contribution to holding the Summit, with the following goals:

1) Establishing an overall framework identifying a joint understanding of the information society;

2) Drawing a strategic plan of action and

3) Identifying the role of various partners to ensure coordination in all Member States.

It also requested the Secretary – General to coordinate with the international organizations and other international actors, and called for measures specifically designed to improve and strengthen the presence of the union in diverse regions. The United Nations General Assembly on 21 December 2001, adopted resolution 56/183, endorsing the holding of a World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), with the goal. The Resolution dictated that the WSIS would be held in two phases. The first phase of WSIS, took place in 2003 in Geneva, Switzerland, from 10 to 12 December. And the second phase of WSIS, was set in Tunis, from 16 to 18 November 2005.

In 2004, UNESCO granted patronage to the World Summit Award 2005, as it contributed to overcoming the digital gap and at the same time encouraged the creation of “locally relevant, high quality multimedia content”.

The WSA Young Innovators, which is a special recognition for young people under 26 years of age, using ICTs to take action on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs, is now open for application.


  • Winners benefit from a lifelong partnership and integration.


  • Under 26 years of age.
  • Using ICTs to take action on the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDGs).
Eligible Regions: UN member states.

Application Process

  • Applications should be submitted through the organisation’s website which can be accessed by clicking on the “Apply Now” button below.

Application Deadline: November 10, 2023

Application ClosedOfficial link

For Further Queries

For further queries contact: [email protected]
Disclaimer: Youth Opportunities spreads opportunities for your convenience and ease based on available information, and thus, does not take any responsibility of unintended alternative or inaccurate information. As this is not the official page, we recommend you to visit the official website of opportunity provider for complete information. For organizations, this opportunity is shared with sole purpose of promoting “Access to Information” for all and should not be associated with any other purposes.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?