TWAS is inviting nominations for the 2024 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Awards!

TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Awards, a yearly prize to honour women scientists from Scientifically and Technologically Lagging (STL) nations and the award is named in honour of TWAS Fellow Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi. It carries a cash award, kindly supplied by Professor Al-Kharafi, and it will alternate between different scientific subjects. The prize will be presented in 2024 for accomplishments in engineering sciences, chemistry, mathematics, or physics.

All of TWAS’s members, as well as universities, scientific institutes in both developed and developing nations, national research councils, and science academies, are encouraged to submit suggestions for the 2024 Award. Self-nominations will not be taken into account. Nominees must be female scientists national of a ST-lagging country and have been living and working there for at least two years immediately prior to their nomination.

Nyovani Janet Madise of Malawi, in 2023 was awarded for her groundbreaking study in Kenya regarding the impoverished residing in slums’ lack of access to healthcare, which resulted in the building of maternity facilities. In 2022 Nadia HAIDER of the Syrian Arab Republic and Sayera BANU of Bangladesh received the award. Sayera BANU is renowned for her groundbreaking studies on tuberculosis and her ability to successfully incorporate those findings into practices and regulations. Nadia HAIDER is acknowledged for her outstanding work in the fields of date palm whole genome sequencing and plant DNA barcoding. Huda Omer Salem Basaleem of Yemen, in 2021, for her outstanding contributions to improving child health both locally and regionally and in the field of cancer control techniques.

TWAS identified 66 developing countries in which capacity in science and technology is significantly lagging. The list includes the 45 least developed countries identified by the United Nations, to which 21 other countries were added because of their low-income levels and specific needs for support in building research capacity. TWAS and its partner, the Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD), set these as priority countries for support. From 2017, all OWSD PhD fellowships and many TWAS research grants are reserved for scientists in these countries as well as this award.




  • A cash award of USD4,000


  • Nominations for the 2024 award are invited in Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics or Engineering Sciences.
  • Nominees must be female scientists national of a ST-lagging country and
  • Nominees must have been living and working there for at least two years immediately prior to their nomination.
Eligible Regions: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Rep., Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dem. Rep., Congo, Djibouti, El Salvador, Eritrea, Eswatini, Kingdom of, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Kenya, Kiribati, Lao People’s Dem. Rep., Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Palestine, State of Paraguay, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Application Process

  • Visit the Apply link by clicking on the “APPLY NOW” button.
  • Create and login to your account.
  • Complete the form with necessary information as instructed.

Note: For quick tips and detailed application instructions you may take a look on the applicant tutorial pdf which can be found in the official link.

A nomination is considered complete only if includes all of the following information/material:

  • Nominator contact details;
  • Nominee contact details (self nominations and nominations from jury members are not accepted) and general information on the nominee, including the country where she has been working and living in the past 2 years;
  • Authorization from the nominee (i.e. the candidate) to process her personal data for the purposes of her nomination, in conformity to Art. 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003. This authorization can only be submitted through the online platform. The privacy authorization form is available for download in the section ‘nominee’s personal data’. The form must be filled in and signed by the candidate and then uploaded onto the on-line platform;
  • Suggested citation (15-20 words highlighting the nominee’s scientific achievements in Social Sciences (economics, politics, sociology);
  • Supporting statement regarding the nominee’s contribution in either Agricultural Sciences or Biology. Supporting statements should explain in detail the work performed by the candidate and its significance in the relevant scientific context. Clear reference should be made to the scientific impact of the nominee’s work. Vague supporting statements will not be considered and will negatively affect the evaluation;
  • Clear and detailed account of any time spent abroad by the nominee in the past two years;
  • PhD: information on subject area, year and awarding institution;
  • Brief information on membership in academies and societies;
  • Brief information on awards and honours received;
  • List of 10 most significant publications listed in an internationally acceptable format;
  • The nominee’s brief CV and her complete list of publications are also to be uploaded, separately, onto the online platform.
  • The nominee’s h-index in Google Scholar and its associated number of citations.

Application Deadline: May 10, 2024

Application ClosedOfficial link

For Further Queries

For further queries email to [email protected] & If you have technical problems with the online form, please contact at [email protected]
Disclaimer: Youth Opportunities spreads opportunities for your convenience and ease based on available information, and thus, does not take any responsibility of unintended alternative or inaccurate information. As this is not the official page, we recommend you to visit the official website of opportunity provider for complete information. For organizations, this opportunity is shared with sole purpose of promoting “Access to Information” for all and should not be associated with any other purposes.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?