• Brussels

The New European Bauhaus (NEB) initiative calls on all Europeans to imagine and build together a sustainable and inclusive future that is beautiful for our eyes, minds, and souls.

As in 2022, the 2023 Prizes will be awarded in four categories which are based on the thematic axes of transformation that guide the delivery of the New European Bauhaus: Reconnecting with nature, Regaining a sense of belonging, Prioritising the places and people that need it the most, and The need for long-term, life-cycle thinking in the industrial ecosystem.

By creating bridges between different backgrounds, cutting across disciplines, and building on participation at all levels, the New European Bauhaus inspires a movement to facilitate and steer the transformation of our societies according to three inseparable values: Sustainability, from climate goals to circularity, zero pollution, and biodiversity; Inclusion, from valuing diversity, to securing accessibility and affordability; and Aesthetics and quality of experience for people, through design, positive emotions and cultural benefits.

The European Commission launched the initiative in late 2020 to bring communities together and connect the European Green Deal to our daily lives and living spaces. The first two editions of the New European Bauhaus Prizes in 2021 and 2022 demonstrated that local communities can come together and find creative solutions that improve our lives. In the last two years, the Prizes rewarded excellence and creativity in implementing the New European Bauhaus and highlighting outstanding projects, ideas, and concepts (over 3,000 applications were received in total) that further inspired the development of the initiative.

By rewarding and putting real-life examples and young talents’ great ideas into the limelight, the New European Bauhaus (NEB) prizes aim to demonstrate that sustainability promoted by the European Green Deal can be inclusive and bring beauty and high-quality experiences for people’s everyday lives and in local communities across Europe. It helps bring the NEB closer to citizens and inspires more people to start their own projects.





  • 15 prizes in total(Jury will select 12 winners, one winner for each category in each strand)(Open public voting will select 3 additional winners, one winner per strand).
  • All winners will receive a monetary prize:
    1. EUR 30,000 for winners of the New European Bauhaus Champions
    2. EUR 15,000 for winners of the New European Bauhaus Rising Stars
    3. EUR 30,000 for winners of the European Bauhaus Education Champions
  • All finalists will be invited to Brussels to participate in the award ceremony.
  • All finalists will benefit from a communication package provided by the Commission in order to support the promotion of their project.



  • Both EU and non-EU residents can apply, as long as their projects, concepts, or ideas are implemented in the EU or in the Western Balkans.
  • Group of individuals and organizations applications are possible.
  • Applicants to Strand B must be aged 30 or less on the final day of the call for applications.
  • In Strands A and C there is no age limit.
  • Experts, thinkers, doers, neighbors, ministers, students, educators, or researchers are invited to submit applications under Strand C, which is dedicated to initiatives focusing on education and learning.
  • Eligible applications which have not been awarded a New European Bauhaus prize in any of the strands and categories in previous editions of the Prizes may submit applications for the same project, concept, or initiative again, provided they follow the eligibility criteria included in the Applicants Guide.


Eligible Regions: EU Members States, Western Balkans

Application Process

  • Applications for the New European Bauhaus Prizes should be submitted through the dedicated platform available at https://prizes.new-european-bauhaus.eu/user/login.
  • Applicants need to submit an online application in English.
  • The completed projects (Strand A) or concepts (Strand B), as well as initiatives under Strand C on education and learning, should be described in detail in the relevant application form.
  • The application form should detail how the project, concept, or initiative represents the three New European Bauhaus values.
  • Each application can be submitted under one category and in one strand only.
  • Each applicant can submit multiple applications as long as they are related to different projects, concepts, or initiatives.
  • The application period will start on 6 December and end on 31 January at 19:00 CET.
  • Applications can be modified and updated while they are in a draft state.


Application Deadline: January 31, 2023

Application ClosedOfficial link

For Further Queries

For further queries, send an email to [email protected]
Disclaimer: Youth Opportunities spreads opportunities for your convenience and ease based on available information, and thus, does not take any responsibility of unintended alternative or inaccurate information. As this is not the official page, we recommend you to visit the official website of opportunity provider for complete information. For organizations, this opportunity is shared with sole purpose of promoting “Access to Information” for all and should not be associated with any other purposes.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?