European Press Prize 2021

The European Press Prize Foundation is taking applications for 2021 from journalists all over Europe. Quality journalism is of vital importance to healthy democracies, especially in a time when information is omnipresent. Unfortunately, because of a transforming, pressured market and fragile press freedom – quality has become increasingly difficult to maintain.

Looking for fully-funded opportunities, install the Youth Opportunities Android or iOS App here.

To help counter the effects of these transformations was one of the reasons the European Press Prize was envisioned. Formed by seven independent European foundations with strong media connections, all of which count excellence and public service as part of their collective challenge. The aim of the foundation is to salute and encourage journalism of the highest quality for building a better world.




  • There are four awards – worth 10,000 euros each.
  • The judges are also empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence. The nominated works will be published on the website of the European Press Prize.

The four awards are as follows:

  • The Investigative Reporting Award – For the individual or team effort which has done most to unearth facts that the public and society has a right to know.
  • The Distinguished Reporting Award – For the best reportage and feature writing illuminating vital issues at home and abroad.
  • The Opinion Award – For the commentator, columnist or editor whose work has made a decisive impact.
  • The Innovation Award – For the idea – presentational, technical or in terms of editorial techniques that has made a clear contribution to journalism’s future.
  • The Special Award – From 2013 on, the judges will be empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence in editing or any other discipline, including reporting, feature write and advocacy.


  • Journalists from all 47 countries of Europe as defined by the Council of Europe are eligible to enter their work.
  • Journalists working in Europe and journalists writing for a European media organization or blog can submit their work.
  • The work submitted must have a publication date between December 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020.
Eligible Regions: European countries.

Application Process

  • Entries should be submitted digitally by completing the form through the Apply Now link. Only complete forms can be entered. Articles must be submitted in both PDF/JPEG and Word doc. format.
  • Articles should be no longer than 5,000 words
  • Submit only one article per person. For the Opinion Award you can enter three pieces per person. If your work is part of a series, you are welcome to mention this in the entry form.
  • Text should be the predominant part of your entry. The judging procedure is set up to judge written journalism (with supporting material).
  • submit your article in the language of the original publication. Articles selected for the long list will be translated into English. But If you have an English translation, please submit as well.
  • If you are unable to submit your own work due to safety or logistical restraints, someone else can submit your work.
  • If your project is considered for the shortlist they will contact you.

Looking for fully-funded opportunities, install the Youth Opportunities Android or iOS App here.

Application Deadline: December 2, 2020 (5 Hours Remaining)

Apply nowOfficial link

For Further Queries

Please visit the official website for further queries.
Disclaimer: Youth Opportunities spreads opportunities for your convenience and ease based on available information, and thus, does not take any responsibility of unintended alternative or inaccurate information. As this is not the official page, we recommend you to visit the official website of opportunity provider for complete information. For organizations, this opportunity is shared with sole purpose of promoting “Access to Information” for all and should not be associated with any other purposes.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?