• Uranienborgveien 2, 0258, Oslo, Norway

The Fritt Ord Foundation and the ZEIT-Stiftung Ebelin and Gerd Bucerius hereby invite nominations of independent journalists, bloggers, Internet media and newspapers for the 2018 Free Media Awards. This award seeks to encourage journalists and media to carry on their work, despite threats and violent oppression, and to contribute to strengthening independent journalism. The prize laureats are decided on the basis of nominations, which are then reviewed by an independent jury. The jury for the Free Media Awards consists of Alice Bota, DIE ZEIT; Ane Tusvik Bonde, Human Rights House Foundation; Martin Paulsen, University of Bergen; Stephanie Schiffer, European Exchange and Stephan Wackwitz, Goethe Instittute, Tbilisi.





  • The Free Media Awards prize amount per recipient is EUR 15 000
  • The prizes provide support for journalists and media that report independently and refuse to give up in the face of threats
  • The prize aspire to encourage journalists and media to carry on their work, despite threats and violent oppression
  • It seeks to express respect and admiration in an effort to strengthen independent journalism


  • The press prizes are earmarked for newspapers, Internet media and journalists
  • The media outlets must have been publishing articles for at least one year, and be able to demonstrate a steady readership
  • The media outlets should demonstrate broad editorial initiatives in at least three areas, one of which should be foreign policy
  • The Media outlets should be able to demonstrate balanced coverage of political, cultural, economic and social affairs
  • Applicant from Russia, Belarus, the Ukraine, Georgia and South Caucasus are eligible for the prize
Eligible Regions: Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Armenia

Application Process

Applicants should provide the followings :

  • A nominations statement on explaining why the journalist or media outlet is considered to be a good candidate for the Free Media Awards
  • Nominations should include references to the quality of their work
  • The nomination statement should be 1 to 2 pages long  and include a short biography and links to articles, where relevant (to qualify for nomination, journalists and media outlets must have demonstrated a commitment to democracy and freedom of expression)

Applicants have to send their nominations by e-mail to [email protected]

Application Deadline: March 2, 2018

Application ClosedOfficial link
Disclaimer: Youth Opportunities spreads opportunities for your convenience and ease based on available information, and thus, does not take any responsibility of unintended alternative or inaccurate information. As this is not the official page, we recommend you to visit the official website of opportunity provider for complete information. For organizations, this opportunity is shared with sole purpose of promoting “Access to Information” for all and should not be associated with any other purposes.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?